A guide to resources for research in history.
This guide is designed to provide assistance in locating history resources for your reserach paper.
Select any link below to view information on plagairism.
To access resources from off campus, when prompted for your user name- type in your last name and when prompted for your ID, type in your student ID number without the A.
Select one or more of the databases below to access full text articles with citation options. When prompted for a user name use your name as the user name and your college ID without the A as your password.
- EBSCO History Reference Center
This database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Nearly 57,000 historical documents; More than 80,000 biographies of historical figures; More than 1,990 full-text reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books; Nearly 46,000 historical photos & maps; More than 80 hours of historical video
- Historical Images & Videos in History Reference Center
- Ambrose Digital Streaming Videos
The series chronicles decisive events in U.S. History. The collection consist of 133 videos.
- Credo Reference
Use Credo Reference to find: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies, Quotations, Bilingual Dictionaries, Crossword Solver, and Measurement Conversion
- American History Online
Complete coverage: more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, overview era essays: overview essays outlining time periods, unique Topic Centers: specially selected entries on different eras of American history to help users find a starting point for their research, authoritative source list: full and partial text from hundreds of print titles, including the revised edition of the award-winning Encyclopedia of American History, newsreel videos: videos, with a focus on World War II-era newsreel footage, giving enlightening "you are there" looks at events and people.
- Academic Search Complete
Over 13,600 indexed and abstracted journals, nearly 9,100 full-text journals, full text for more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals, PDF content dating back as far as 1887, searchable cited references provided for more than 1,460 journals,, and updated daily.
- Academic Search Premier
A renowned scholarly resource providing superior full-Text, academic journals covering the major areas of academic research.
- Salem History: Great Lives and Great Events
Immediate insights into important personalities and events in the Ancient World, Middle Ages, Renaissance, 17th, 18th, 19th Centuries, and throughout the 20th Century.
Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.
Access the ebook collection with citation options. If prompted for a user name and password, use your last name as the user name and the last seven digits of your college ID as your password.
Search the PASCAL catalog for books that you may borrow from other SC academic libraries and have them delivered to you. To request a book, after the title is selected, click on "Reqeust It" and follow the prompts.
Click on the Citation Machine link. Citation machine helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. From the menu on the left of the Citation Machine page select the citation style, APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian. Choose the type of resource that you wish to cite. Fill in the boxes with the requested information. Click submit. The information will be formatted in the style that you selected. Select, copy, and paste the formatted information into your document.
Click on any one of the links below and follow the instructions to format according to the Chicago Style.
Call Us: 843.661.8032
Wellman, Inc. Library
Email Us: firstname.lastname@example.org
SKYPE Us: fdtc.libraries