Research help for English 160 assignments.
This guide is designed to provide
assistance in locating information
resources for English 160
Call Us: 843.661.8032
Wellman, Inc. Library
Email Us: firstname.lastname@example.org
SKYPE Us: fdtc.libraries
When prompted for a user name and a password, your user name is your last name and your password is your college ID.
Select one or more of the databases below to access full text articles with citation options. When prompted for a user name use your name as the user name and your college ID.
- Academic Search Complete
Over 13,600 indexed and abstracted journals, nearly 9,100 full-text journals, full text for more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals, PDF content dating back as far as 1887, searchable cited references provided for more than 1,460 journals,, and updated daily.
- Academic Search Premier
A renowned scholarly resource providing superior full-Text, academic journals covering the major areas of academic research.
- Access World News - Newsbank
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Search job fairs, research companies and industries, executives, employment trends.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Academic
The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one site.
- Learning Express Occupational Place Tests
you'll discover instantly scored licensing, certification, and aptitude practice tests, online career preparation, and vital information for a wide variety of occupations.
Choose your tests, courses, and ebooks from available resources. You will have to create a log in to get to many of the resources.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
The profiles featured here cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Helps students explore issues from all perspectives include: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, more than 300 primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, and charts and graphs.
- Points of View
Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). For each topic, this database also offers a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics.
PrepSTEP™, an online learning platform that helps students build the skills that can shape their futures, in school and beyond.
Access the ebook collection with citation options. If prompted for a user name and password, use your last name as the user name and the last seven digits of your college ID as your password.
Use the link below to access statistical data on the workforce in South Carolina. Click on "labor market analysis" at the top of the page to access labor market statistics. You will be required to create a login user name and password.
Click on the link (Citation Styles) below and you will be directed to a citation libguide. This guide will give information on how to cite resources.