This guide is designed to provide
assistance in locating information
Call Us: 843.661.8032
Wellman, Inc. Library
Email Us: firstname.lastname@example.org
SKYPE Us: fdtc.libraries
When prompted for a user name and a password, your user name is your last name and your password is your college ID without the A.
Select any link below to view information on plagairism.
Select one or more of the databases below to access full text articles with citation options. When prompted for a user name use your name as the user name and your college ID without the A as your password.
- Academic Search Complete
Over 13,600 indexed and abstracted journals, nearly 9,100 full-text journals, full text for more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals, PDF content dated back as far as 1887, searchable cited references provided for more than 1,4460 journals and updated daily.
- Academic Search Premier
A renowned scholarly resource providing superior full-Text, academic journals covering the major areas of academic research.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Academic
Internet version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use EB Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Helps students explore issues from all perspectives include: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, more than 300 primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, and charts and graphs.
- Points of View
Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). For each topic, this database also offers a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics.
Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.
Select the link below to access ebooks with citation options. When prompted for a user name and password, use your name as the user name and your college ID, without the A, as your password.
- eBooks Collection (Ebsco)
Access to 60,000 plus full text electronic books with citation format optioins.
ebrary currently hosts 790,702 documents
- Fast Facts
Convenient access to quick-reference books and practical guides spanning numerous medical specialties.
Each of these guides distils, from the best available evidence, the essentials of diagnosis, treatment, care, and patient management in a succinct and well-illustrated manner.
Search the PASCAL catalog for books that you may borrow from other SC academic libraries and have them delivered to you. To request a book, after the title is selected, click on "Reqeust It" and follow the prompts.
Click on Zinio to read what you like from the FDTC collection of 56 popular digital magazine titles. Read what you like from the collection on any device. Download the Zinio app, create your account and begin reading.
- Locate research material using: databases, ebooks, print books, personal interviews, library catalog, libguides, search engines
- Remember: citing your sources aloud will give you credibility as a speaker
- When you have all of your material: 1. Pracice explaining the information you want to use until you understand it 2. Paraphrase lengthy material and use short quotations to give your speech more impact
- To test your supporting material, ask yourself: 1. Is the information relevant to the point? 2. Does the information prove the point? 3. Is the information timely or timeless? 4. Is there a logical connection between the evidence and the claim?
Click on the link (Citation Styles) below and you will be directed to a citation libguide. This guide will give information on how to cite resources.